Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Total newbie just about to take the plunge - HELP!

Default Total newbie just about to take the plunge - HELP!

Guys,

I hope you can help me out; I'm just about to take the plunge and buy my first hive and don't want to make an expensive mistake

Can you tell me if beginners kits like these are worth the money:
    http://www.bees-online.co.uk/view.asp?ID=1120
    http://www.thorne.co.uk/thorne7.htm
    Or should I buy items individually?

Are there retailers people would recommend above others?
    Are there any retailers in the North East Scotland - the Inverbervie / Stonehaven area?

Where would I buy bees - on-line? I see from other posts on here that there is the potential for disease in bees locally. Can a beginner easily tell the difference?

Cheers,
    Kev.

Blog Entries

Hi Kev,

the Thorne price looks ok.. No idea about the quality though.
    Maybe you will get a better price for a hive if you buy it with the bees. But whatever you do buy your bees locally with the advice of the local association.
    You will need
    2-3 Colonies / two really strong ones so you can create a third one this year..
    # 4 Honey Pails (plastic with lids 12,5kg capacity)
    # 1 Hive Tool - American long
    # 1 Smoker as big as you can (burns longer between refills)
    # Veil
    # bee brush
    that should get you started... I hope your local association has a Honeyextractor - you will want to hold off on buying that till you know if you want to carry on.

http://www.swienty.com/ is well respected here and is in english - prices are competative for over here. I think I got all that for under 80 pounds (http://www.holtermann-shop.de but in German) and my hives (with bees and 2 supers) for 150 pounds for each colony...
    A good book is good, but I never bothered with the gloves. If you mow the lawn you dont need fuel for the smoker!
    all the best
    Calum