Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Absolute beginner :p

Just north of Bennachie, in darkest Aberdeenshire

Default Absolute beginner :p

Hi there...I'm a total novice at beekeeping, but have been wanting to give it a go for years. I'm about to join the Moray Beekeepers and attend their Intro course in August and hope to start up my own colony as soon as is practical after that. Any information regarding costs of bees, equipment, hives etc would be appreciated. I aim to have my hive at home in a large (1 acre) garden, but was enthused by some photos of folk taking their bees to the heather; now, I just live a short stroll from Bennachie...hmmmm...?
    A'ra best
    DM

Blog Entries

Nice to hear from you DM. Get stuck in there! The Moray group is very active and I'm sure that they will see you right. Costs? Too much. Maybe you can get help from local beekeepers in the way of secondhand equipment that they can vouch for? Otherwise look at the beginner sets at Thornes.

Folk often sell bees at £25 per frame but there may be cheaper ways, including just setting up a box and letting the bees come to you.

I was up in the Monymusk area a few Saturdays ago with a commercial beekeeper who has hives there. We also have a forum member in the Cabrach which isn't too far away from you. And yes, there is heather on Benachie so maybe when you get bees they will fly there for you?

Thanks for your prompt reply, Gavin The beginner's sets look like an option that I could consider. I would also hope to contact someone who would be willing to act as a mentor for me, and may manage this through the Moray group...anyone out there interested...?