Thread: All dead

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default All dead

Hi everyone, I’m new to here and wanted to ask if anyone has used the Omlet Beehaus with any success?
    I’ve just found all my bees dead and I suspect that they have died of the cold overnight. They were flying about a couple of days ago, have plenty of stores, no sign of disease. Any suggestions?
    We’re quite high up and they were in the orchard, but we’ve had a battering from the wind the last few days, then frost this morning.

Orkney (it’s usually cool and windy but somehow the bees survive!)

Hi Fiona sorry to hear about your bees. I’ve no experience of the beehaus apart from what I’ve seen online but most colonies of bees will survive whatever the weather throws at them if they have been properly set up. Hopefully you’ll be able contact beekeepers in your area who might take a look, but for the rest of us I have a few questions.
    1 Do you have much experience with beekeeping.
    2 Was your colony kept to the one side of the beehaus with the divider fitted and no obvious areas where a draught would get in apart from the mesh floor.
    3 How strong was your colony the last time you looked in the hive and when was that.
    4 Was your colony queen right and have you been treating for varroa.
    5 Apart from seeing no bees was there any other reason for opening up the hive.
    One possibility could be that your colony has been queenless for a long time and the last of your bees have died out, another could be varroa. I hope you can prove me wrong on both counts.
    Last edited by lindsay s; 27-10-2018 at 09:11 PM.

Bees don't just die overnight.. from cold or starvation.. takes several days - see posts from yesterday starting with Murray McGregor

@calluna4u
    19h19 hours ago
    More