Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Local bees

Default Local bees

I have been interested in the recent threads about the SNHBS and morphometry. This photo shows a dark bee from my hives and a more yellow one from a neighbours hive across the loch about 3 miles away. I would be interested in any comments from more expert Beekeepers. My bees have all been sourced locally in Ullapool in the north west highlands from swarms and dividing my colonies, and I have not imported queens.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Senior Member Mellifera Crofter's Avatar
    Aberdeenshire, on top of a wind-swept and exposed hill.

I'm not an expert about what AMM bees look like, RDMW - but I think, from reading here (Jon, perhaps?) that AMMs aren't necessarily all black or dark brown. The bee on the left isn't that yellow either, and the tomenta (the lighter stripes) are still on the narrow side, rather than wide. I don't know if that means anything. I've also heard or read that AMMs are more stocky. I've been scrutinising my AMM bees and can't say that I've seen that - but perhaps I should have two bees photographed together like you have done to be able to compare them.

Are you going to try checking your bees, and perhaps your neighbour's as well, with some wing morphometry?
    Kitta

Thanks Kitta
    Yes I have had an offer of help with morphometry and plan to send a sample of young bees in the Spring.
    I do not know what strain my bees are, I expect they are a Heinz 57 mongrel.
    They are kinda nice though!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Blog Entries