Thread: Asian hornets in Tetbury

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Blog Entries
    Last edited by gavin; 20-09-2016 at 02:13 PM.

Yep....got a direct email this morning Gavin.

Its a mere 13 miles as the crow flies from my bees near Cirencester and Swindon.

Not going to over react though, as in much of France, particular pockets aside, its serious nuisance rather than a disaster. Will see what unfolds over the seasons to come. Will be quite a while before it builds up to something major, if ever.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Calluna4u View Post
    Yep....got a direct email this morning Gavin.

Its a mere 13 miles as the crow flies from my bees near Cirencester and Swindon.
    That's worrying (for you).

This paper has maps with predictions based on climate data that seem reassuring for Scotland. However I've been a scientist long enough to know that the value of predictive modelling can be ... well, not as great as it seems at the time. It isn't always climate that matters but - for a free living social hornet - climate possibly is king.

http://www.nev.nl/pages/publicaties/...s/22/39-46.pdf

It is said that perhaps the biggest issue with it is that the presence of the hornet causes colonies to shut down foraging - hence it may strongly depress honey yields.

G.
    Last edited by gavin; 20-09-2016 at 04:23 PM.

Blog Entries

OK Im no scientist either, but one Hornet is not a plague, how did it arrive and will it survive.Did I read here or somewhere else a beekeeper had a problem eating with his dog eating his honey bees he equated this to a loss in honey production and had the dog put down, when asked how many bees the dog was eating a week he guesstimated 30.???

Asian hornet in Gloucestershire ... disappointing but perhaps inevitable news.

Quote Originally Posted by gavin View Post