Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: aggressive colony

Default aggressive colony

Hi all,

Could I get some advice on requeening an aggressive colony please. The colony we'd like to change is bad tempered and guard bees will follow us for some distance and time after the hive has been closed back up. I'm new to beekeeping but can rule out beginners handling because our other colony is much more mild mannered.

I'd like to requeen the problem colony and would love some advice on the best course of action please.

There are eggless queen cups in both hives. Could I try and graft a young larvae from the mild colony into a queen cup in the problem colony and kill the problem colony's queen or should I wait for a queen cell to appear in the mild mannered hive and transfer that to the problem colony?

Any help much appreciated.

(thinking about it, is the only real option getting a mated queen from someone else as a new queen of my making may well mate with bad tempered drones keeping the colony unchanged?)
    Last edited by wheresthedog; 14-05-2016 at 05:06 PM.

Hi wheresthedog

I am going to guess that if the bees are all bad then the fault lies with the queen
    So if you raise a queen from her there is a fair chance it will produce ill tempered bees as well
    Drones are a bit of a lottery and unless you are in a very isolated spot you cant influence them
    The good news is you have one gentle colony, so that's where your next queen should come from

If you are feeling brave or have a very good beesuit and smoker find the bitch queen and squash her
    If there is drone brood remove it
    After 5 days or so go through the bad hive and squash every queen cell make sure you get them all
    Put a frame from your good hive into the bad one
    That frame should have eggs and very young larva
    After a few days just check for queen cell on the introduced frame
    You can reduce them down to one or two good open ones of the same age