Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Langstroth and Plastic

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Langstroth and Plastic

Hello, I'm brand new to all this and am currently on a basic course. Hopefully to get some bees in the very near future.
    Living on the West Coast of the Highlands we do get a lot of rain, so poly or plastic hives to me seems the obvious choice, especially as they also give great insulation, which the benefits that can bring. So my question is about that. Does anyone use Apimaye Thermo Beehives?
    They seem a good idea and appear well made. The few reviews I can find are positive. However all the hives around here are national and the Apimaye are Langstroth, which would seem to be a problem with sharing with others using national hives. Any thoughts?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by chrispaulmorgan View Post
    sharing with others using national hives. Any thoughts?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Hi there - that hive looks a lot more complicated, with lots of bits to lose, compared to National or Smith hives. Both of which are available in poly. When I was looking into things and asking experienced keepers about the different hive types the question of colony size came up and on Tayside, the Langstroth may be just a bit too big. After keeping my own now I would urge you to keep it as simple as possible and make sure all your components are compatible. You are not really going to be sharing hive bits with others; this could increase the risk of disease transmission. The only issue is the frames that you get your bees on.

National into Langstroth does go, but not vice versa.
    greengumbo on here has just bought a load of poly Langstroth boxes ... he chose Swienty, which seem universally liked by those who use them.