Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Honey

Question Honey

Hi everyone, some of you will know that I am new to beekeeping and this being my 1st year I have a lot of unanswered questions that I will need some kind of answers to If I can from time to time. Now the one that is bothering me at the moment is this, I have my bees at the heather or should I say were I keep my bees there is lots of heather!!.

question is this if I take the supers off at the end of this month and they are not capped can I still use it ? (not selling) I know it has to be below or about 17% water content the thing I would like to know is this what to do with it ? can I still press it out and jar it.

Thanks again in advance for your kind comments.

I'd recommend you clear the supers early in the morning, so the bees have had overnight to work on evaporating off moisture and no fresh nectar has been added that day. You may not want to leave it until the very end of September though as the bees may start moving honey down into the brood box for winter if they are light on stores.

If you shake a less-than-fully-capped frame vigorously, one side then the other side facing downwards, and no nectar flies out (do this outside away from the bees or over a sink!) you're probably okay to process the honey and bottle it. But borrow a refractometer or buy one. This will measure the water content which, for heather honey, can be higher than for other honeys but no higher than 20%. Enjoy!

Quote Originally Posted by Kate Atchley View Post
    I'd recommend you clear the supers early in the morning, so the bees have had overnight to work on evaporating off moisture and no fresh nectar has been added that day. You may not want to leave it until the very end of September though as the bees may start moving honey down into the brood box for winter if they are light on stores.