Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wooden or Poly hives ?

Question Wooden or Poly hives ?

Hi everyone, I have as some of you will know been trying out some poly hives (paradise BEEBOX hives) to be exact. I decided today as the weather was good to check on the 4 hives that I have at my new apiary, I have taken a video to show the results and I was very surprised at what I seen.
    Anyway here is the video of my findings so far, the video shows that the 2 wooden hives that were the strongest out of the 4 hive when put to the heather are way behind in covering the frames, maybe this is normal ? im not sure as im new to this!!.
    All I can see is that the bees in the paradise BEEBOX hives are doing a lot better.

Blog Entries

In general, yes, bees in polyboxes build better. There are of course other factors other than strength. I'd wager that your wooden Nationals were holding back from brood rearing in July whereas your warmer poly boxes may have carried on. Then the poly boxes would be poised to expand more now, no matter what, and would be in a better position now to bring home the goodies.

Nice to see the activity in the supers though. Fingers crossed for no frost and a continuation of the heather season well into a particularly warm September ....

Quote Originally Posted by gavin View Post
    In general, yes, bees in polyboxes build better. There are of course other factors other than strength. I'd wager that your wooden Nationals were holding back from brood rearing in July whereas your warmer poly boxes may have carried on. Then the poly boxes would be poised to expand more now, no matter what, and would be in a better position now to bring home the goodies.

Nice to see the activity in the supers though. Fingers crossed for no frost and a continuation of the heather season well into a particularly warm September ....