Thread: Cabbage Honey

Default Cabbage Honey

One of my hives has made 50 lbs of OSR honey collected from 1.7km away (the nearest OSR). I have no previous experience of it.
    I warmed 20 lbs, found it tasted of cabbage so blended it with wild flower honey to try to improve it. I have added 8 lbs so far and it still tastes of awful.
    Could someone please tell me what I have to do to it to make it palatable?
    Last edited by brecks; 08-08-2014 at 12:59 PM.

Doesn't sound like OSR to me. Mine was collected from the field the apiary is in and tastes just like I expect OSR to do … sweet, mild, perhaps a bit bland, fine grain. I suspect yours is not OSR and that they were foraging on something else. However, I'm not sure how to rescue it (other than perhaps use it for mead or cooking with it) and, by the sounds of things, I wouldn't go adding any more wild flower honey to it.

Marmalade perhaps … the fruit taste might well mask the cabbage. If you're selling it advertise it as "Lemon and honey" rather than "Lemon and cabbage", sounds a whole lot more appealing. You can also add a splash of whisky (whiskey for Jon) late on to help with the flavour. I know it's cheating, but the tinned, prepared fruit from Lakeland makes fantastic marmalade when you replace all the sugar/water with honey. The instructions are almost foolproof. Give it a go.

Quote Originally Posted by fatshark View Post
    Doesn't sound like OSR to me. Mine was collected from the field the apiary is in and tastes just like I expect OSR to do … sweet, mild, perhaps a bit bland, fine grain. I suspect yours is not OSR and that they were foraging on something else. However, I'm not sure how to rescue it (other than perhaps use it for mead or cooking with it) and, by the sounds of things, I wouldn't go adding any more wild flower honey to it.