Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Waspkeeping

Default Waspkeeping

Hello all, I am new to the word of bee keeping and have some questions, specifically regarding the keeping of wasps. It appears waspkeeping is still not as popular as beekeeping, however a new generation of waspkeepers are bringing this hobby to the mainstream. I was unable to find a forum specifically for waspkeepers and hope you will be able to help me.

I would like to know if waspkeeping is similar to beekeeping; do wasps live in those white boxes bees live in? Do wasps produce an equivalent of honey or beeswax and if so how do I harvest this?

Many thanks

Keith

Wasps like a nice diet of caterpillar early in the year and sugary things in the Autumn
    The best place to keep them is in your loft that way they can visit you all over the house
    Wasps are a bit keener to sting so if you have arthritis you will be quids in
    Also wasps don't leave their sting in you, so they can always pop back and sting you again later if you like
    Wood wasps are a type of hornet. they get very large. and like pine logs to lay their eggs
    If you want to attract them buy a nice saw and chop down a few pine trees
    Don't get stung by these though, or arthritis will be the least of your worries
    You wont get any bees wax from wasps but they produce big paper nests which some artists will buy
    Alternatively they light the fire very well indeed
    Wasp honey and rocking horse droppings make popular breakfast cereal called CoCo Pops but the recipe is a secret
    Wasp boxes don't have to be white and neither do beehives that myth came from the Wizard of OZ film starring Judy Garland
    That was a very good film for anyone who is considering how to live in a fantasy world
    Anyway I digress
    Best of luck with the Wasps Keith they can often be trained to come to a jar of jam which might help get you started

Orkney (it’s usually cool and windy but somehow the bees survive!)

Hi Keith