PDA

View Full Version : OA treatment for double brood.

onj
23-07-2012, 10:30 PM
Hi guys, this is my first year working with double brood boxes and it got me thinking about oxalic acid treatment. Do I split the boxes and treat separately or leave intact and treat as one? I'm a bit concerned about splitting in cold weather. Also, how much do I use? I will be using the trickle method, so do I use double the amount? Appreciate any help from your wealth of knowledge. As a wee aside, in my five years of beekeeping this is the worst year yet! East Lothian usually enjoys warm dry summers with plenty honey coming in, but I am having to feed 4 out of my 5 hives just now. This is the wetest, coolest summer I can remember in my 50 years!

Jon
23-07-2012, 11:00 PM
I think standard practice is to just trickle into the top box rather than splitting, a maximum of 50ml at the standard dosage. (lets not go there yet, it's still july.)
The bees will work it through the cluster.

onj
23-07-2012, 11:08 PM
Thanks for that Jon . I was thinking along those lines but just wanted to be certain. July? is it really? seems more like October. Seriously though, thanks again for the advice.

Jon
23-07-2012, 11:19 PM
I was alluding to the annual arguments re 3.6, 4.2, 6.0 strength Oxalic by volume, by weight by Finland weights and measures.
Gavin knows what i am taking about re. his spats with Finman on another forum.

GRIZZLY
24-07-2012, 08:07 AM
I was alluding to the annual arguments re 3.6, 4.2, 6.0 strength Oxalic by volume, by weight by Finland weights and measures.
Gavin knows what i am taking about re. his spats with Finman on another forum.

Spats Jon??,I thought it was more considered argument.

gavin
24-07-2012, 09:20 AM
Absolutely. Kindly expressed reasoned argument against .... oh well, he might be reading so I'd best not.

onj
24-07-2012, 11:12 AM
Got me totally confused there guys!:confused:

Neils
24-07-2012, 11:58 AM