PDA

View Full Version : Best simple methods for raising a few queens

The Drone Ranger
09-08-2011, 07:35 PM
How about cell punching any experts out there ??

Jimbo
09-08-2011, 07:56 PM
Hi DR,
I am not an expert on cell punching but I did see a demonstration/explanation from Roger Patterson at the SICAMM conference in Aviemore. I thought I would give it a try as I think it would be easy and cheaper that using the Cupkit system, however I was unable to source a punch as they are no longer produced. Roger did say that a used bullet case (I can't remember the caliber) could be used. Unable to source spent bullets even on MOD land where my hives are located I decided to try and make my own punches. I cut up a 2 ml plastic syringe which is about the same diameter and pushed it through a spare drawn frame of wax. I sharpened the end of the syringe to help it cut through. It looks as though it may work but I have never had time to give it a serious go. Jon will be along to tell you just to graft. Grafting would just be as cheap. The only advantage to cell punch is you don't touch the larvae

Jon
09-08-2011, 09:30 PM
If you want a really simple method ( even simpler than simple grafting!) Separate your colony into two parts separated by a queen excluder. Confine the queen to the bottom box and put the brood frames above it. They will make queen cells in the top part due to the lack of contact with queen pheromone. Use a frame with a nice queen cell on it to make up a nuc. You will probably find several frames with a decent queen cell - but it is easier to graft - and you get more queen cells and the timetable is of your choosing.

Roger is the only guy I know promoting cell punching. (and ley lines) I have several of these if anyone wants them, that's punches rather than ley lines. PM me if interested as they need a good home. I got them as part of a bargain bag of queen rearing equipment a few years ago.

The Drone Ranger
09-08-2011, 11:03 PM
Hi DR,