PDA

View Full Version : Oh ....

gavin
05-06-2011, 09:10 PM
Hi Folks

Here are some photos from one of my own colonies. Am I kidding myself that they might be just chalkbrood? Probably ....

G.

The frame:

http://www.sbai.org.uk/images/another%20one.jpg

Closer ...

http://www.sbai.org.uk/images/closer.jpg

closest, one of them ...

http://www.sbai.org.uk/images/closest1.jpg

and another

http://www.sbai.org.uk/images/closest2.jpg

and the last ...

http://www.sbai.org.uk/images/closest3.jpg

Doesn't look good, does it? I'll see what the professionals say. In the meantime a planned flit to rasps is off, and full hygiene precautions are in place.

G.

Troutnabout
05-06-2011, 09:32 PM
I'm new to all this, so I'll ask a question:
Are you refering to the larvae that are not lying nice and flat in the cells? in your 3rd pic its the larvae in the centre of the 4the row of cells from the top. In the 4th pic its the cell nearest the centre of the pic and finally its the two larvae next to each other????

gavin
05-06-2011, 09:40 PM
Yup, TNA, those are the dodgy cells. They *might* have chalkbrood as that fungal disease causes larvae to adopt unusual positions (sometimes) but I'm on full paranoia alert at the moment over European foulbrood. That one causes larvae to twist, melt down, wax-like, or go mushy, brown and smelly if sealed over before dying. The first is very common, the second is a serious disease that will get worse over time. It is 'notifiable', and as I have suspicions I've just told the inspectors about my concerns. It is the law.

Calum
05-06-2011, 09:55 PM
it could be inbreeding... there are alot of holes in the frame on the first picture. It looks like the bees have reopened up the cells after they were closed - so they are cleaning out cells they dont like. Deformed shape or pupating? Hope its not EFB / AFB / Chalkbrood. Will keep my fingers crossed for you! Keep us updated !

Jimbo
05-06-2011, 10:41 PM