PDA

View Full Version : Best scanner for morphometry

Jon
29-11-2010, 10:51 PM
My current scanner is ancient and only scans at 600dpi.

I have seen the Epson v330 mentioned several times as being up to the job for morphometry and that currently costs around £80 delivered. It will also scan transparancies and negatives which is something I need to do from time to time.

Is there anything else in this price bracket, or any other scanner substantially better, if I spend a few quid more?

Jimbo
30-11-2010, 10:11 AM
Hi Jon,

I use an Epson Perfection V100 which I bought on e-Bay for £50. It is the same scanner as Peter Edwards used when he demonstrated DrawWing to me. If you look at the instructions posted by Gavin I have noted the minimum requirement for a scanner.

AlexJ
30-11-2010, 10:21 AM
Jon
I'm a beginner to both beekeeping and morphometry and like you noticed the V330 being mentioned as suitable for wing analysis; I bought the machine through Amazon.

Albeit I've only sampled 50 wings using DrawWing the scanner appears to have performed as described and the software analysed the wings as expected. It doesn't come with a great instructions but never-the-less is simple to use once the correct settings are applied for scanning wings (thanks to Jim/Jimbo for the advice at the Scotlandwell workshop at the weekend) it works well. If needed I can send copies of the images taken and their analysis for you to compare with other devices.

I haven't used it as yet to scan transparencies or slides. I hope this assists.

Alex

Jon
30-11-2010, 10:58 AM
Thanks Jim and Alex.
I found Amazon to be cheapest as well.
At £78.20 I don't think I would save much by bidding on a second hand model and you get the 12 month guarantee as well.
I need a new scanner anyway so just want to make sure the one I get is good enough for scanning bee wings.
Talk about priorities!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B0040ZP3ZI

Jimbo
30-11-2010, 11:51 AM
Hi Jon,