PDA

View Full Version : Tempt me

Johnthefarmer
03-10-2010, 08:50 PM
I am an organic farmer in Orkney. Why should I bother about bees? We have the great yellow bumblebee all over the farm, and none of our crops require pollenation by honeybees, I think.Nevertheless, I am being persuaded to keep honey bees on the farm by ' guess who?' .They are the nice varroa-free dark bees; but, still, what's in it for me? This is not meant as just a personal point, as my arm is already well- twisted, but to justify my submission to others.

Rosie
03-10-2010, 09:16 PM
I am based in North Wales and surrounded by sheep and beef cattle farms. None of my neighbouring farmers can see any financial benefit from my bees and yet every one I have approached has been more than happy to give me a corner of some field. 2 have even fenced a piece of land off for me and fitted a gate and a style so the sheep can't overturn my hives. Only one farmer is organic but they are all in tune with the environment and and like to feel that they are playing their part.

When they realise that I am offering honey as rental and that the new farm subsidies will take bees into consideration they get their reward in this life as well as the next.

Go on - have some bees and sleep soundly.:)

Rosie

Jon
03-10-2010, 09:23 PM
Go on - have some bees and sleep soundly.:)
Rosie

And I am sure Doris has already mentioned the good karma which beekeeping generates?

Neils
03-10-2010, 10:14 PM
We run a scheme down this neck of the woods to match up landowners offering space for beehives with beekeepers looking for places to stick them. Granted in the middle of a city space to site hives is perhaps at a bit of a premium compared to the Orkneys but is providing a little corner of your land to enable someone to pursue a rewarding hobby in exchange for a couple of pots of honey not reason enough? :)

Johnthefarmer
03-10-2010, 10:25 PM