PDA

View Full Version : Problems with porter bee escapes?

onj
06-09-2010, 01:47 PM
I have been keeping bees for three years now and have two colonies. When harvesting honey I have always used porter bee escapes to clear supers without any problems, until yesterday! Two weeks ago I placed a wet super over the feed hole on one of my hives for the bees to clean up, after a week it was dry but still full of bees, so I put another wet super underneath, a crown board with two new porter bee escapes on top then the dry super. Yesterday I went to take off the first dry super and to my horror discovered a couple of hundred dead bees on the crown board, all was well below. There were some dead bees in the escapes. Can anyone shed light on where I went wrong?

Onj.

Neils
06-09-2010, 09:21 PM
I wont suggest that they were on upside down ;)

I've not yet had any problem using Porter escapes but I've heard a few tales of them either being propolised up by the bees or drones getting themselves stuck in them and blocking them so that the workers can't get through them, any chance that happened in your case?

onj
06-09-2010, 10:44 PM
I wont suggest that they were on upside down ;)

I've not yet had any problem using Porter escapes but I've heard a few tales of them either being propolised up by the bees or drones getting themselves stuck in them and blocking them so that the workers can't get through them, any chance that happened in your case?

Hi Nellie, definitely the right way up, unpropolised, no drones just a couple of workers in the escapes.

Onj

Jimbo
07-09-2010, 07:59 AM
Could it bee (sorry about the pun) that the top super was so far removed from the queen and separated by a crown board that the bees were not attracted back to the brood box by the queen scent. As the top super was dry the dead bees died of starvation.

Jimbo

onj
07-09-2010, 10:28 AM