PDA

View Full Version : Urban Bees Research - can you help?

RHULUrbanBeeResearch
31-01-2017, 02:19 PM
I am a researcher at Royal Holloway, University of London investigating the effect of urbanisation on honeybees (http://elizabethsamuelson.wix.com/beesinthecity) and am planning a large-scale experiment this summer using the honeybee waggle dance to compare foraging behaviour of urban and rural bees. To do this, we film bees in observation hives performing the waggle dance, a behaviour which informs their nestmates about the locations of profitable flower patches. We later analyse the videos, decoding the dances to plot foraging locations of the bees on a map. The aims of the experiment are to identify important foraging hotspots in the urban environment, and to compare foraging in urban and rural locations.

We are looking for existing observation hives in London and the surrounding countryside (i.e. the counties around London) which we can visit to film waggle dances. I realise this is primarily a Scottish forum, but I wondered if anyone knows of any observation hives in the SE England area that are set up? This is likely to be museums, schools, attractions etc. I’d be grateful for any leads so that we can start contacting sites to see if they are interested in being involved in the experiment.

Thanks!

fatshark
31-01-2017, 06:21 PM
I've always wondered about this ... with all those tall buildings it must be a nightmare to direct foragers to appropriate sites. Presumably they dance to give the 'as the bee flies' angle to the sun, but then the bees have to negotiate buildings en route. This must be inefficient.

Welcome to the forum. Primarily Scottish, but global in our outlook and enthusiasm ;)

gavin
31-01-2017, 11:41 PM
Lindauer did his work on waggling for nest sites in post-war Berlin where the bees did indeed work round buildings.