PDA

View Full Version : Queen pheremones and DCAs

Mellifera Crofter
27-01-2017, 06:57 PM
I'm studying, and started to wonder about mating flights and queen pheremones.

From reading (on here mostly), I understand that a virgin queen flies further afield from her home turf than drones do in order to find drones not related to her. So, she is as much on the lookout for drones, as they are for her, doesn't that mean that she would have been helped in that task if the drones also produced pheremones to attract her? How does she find the DCAs? Does she just fly out in the hope she'll get within 100m of a DCA for the drones to become aware of her?

From reading Dave Goulson, it seems to me bumble bees do the same. The drones wait for a virgin queen to fly by.

I know, I've never read about any drone pheremones, but thinking about it now, the sky, and finding each other, seems far more of a problem to me.

Kitta

fatshark
28-01-2017, 09:05 AM
Presumably the queen has evolved to find the DCA's using similar geographic clues to those used by the drones, she just goes further afield. A bit like a single man or woman going to a pub/club/tea dance/rave (delete as appropriate) in the local town as opposed to one more distant. They - males and females, both human and insect - know there will be like-minded individuals gathering in the same place.
The pheromones idea is an interesting one though. This might mean that queens fly upwind to find DCAs. She'd have to work harder to get there but, assuming she used no more than half her strength doing so, would be pretty certain of getting back.

Mellifera Crofter
28-01-2017, 10:42 AM
Thanks Fatshark. It seems obvious now - of course she'll know the clues on how to get there, and isn't as mystified about finding DCA locations as we are.
Kitta

Jon
28-01-2017, 10:55 AM
Is there research to back up where queens fly to?
Those RFID markers used in some of the pesticide studies would be a good way to track virgin queens.