PDA

View Full Version : advice

alec
05-04-2015, 08:55 PM
Hi I am a beginner in the hobby and would appreciate some advice on the best way to manipulate a colony, last autumn I acquired a hive it consisted of a brood box and one super no excluder between, I opened it for the first time yesterday and found the super to be totally full of honey and five frames in one end of the brood box were the same the rest have brood and eggs. How would you recommend I proceed with this hive or just leave it alone.

Thanks Regards

Alec.

Jon
05-04-2015, 09:12 PM
If you fed sugar syrup in the autumn, the super is likely full of it. If you didn't, you could take it off and extract it if the stores have not crystallized.
If stores are solid you could save them to feed back to bees in a time of famine.
Just make sure you know where the queen is when you do any manipulations.
I would put a queen excluder between the brood box and the super but make sure the queen is in the brood box before you do this.

alec
06-04-2015, 10:16 PM
If you fed sugar syrup in the autumn, the super is likely full of it. If you didn't, you could take it off and extract it if the stores have not crystallized.
If stores are solid you could save them to feed back to bees in a time of famine.
Just make sure you know where the queen is when you do any manipulations.
I would put a queen excluder between the brood box and the super but make sure the queen is in the brood box before you do this.

Hi Jon thanks for your advice appreciate your reply and will give it a try.

Kind Regards Alec.

Foster331
30-05-2021, 09:37 AM
Back in 2014, I started beekeeping as a hobby. And to be very honest it was the toughest thing I've ever done. Was unfamiliar with many things as a newbie. But hunting is my passion. Have a large collection of rifles, knives, and red dot sight (https://gearorigin.com/best-red-dot-sight-for-ar-15-with-fixed-front-sight/).

Jamestaylor
02-07-2021, 02:02 PM