PDA

View Full Version : To Swarm or Not to Swarm, that is the question!

darlo
18-05-2010, 11:49 PM
Can anyone help with some advice on splitting a colony?

I am new at bee keeping, and currently have only one colony, which at present is housed in two brood boxes. Today’s inspection showed that the bottom box has 8 out of 10 frames, with both sealed brood and larva, where the top box has 4 or 5 frames of capped brood, and another 2 frames of eggs.

The queen was in the top box today, and in bottom box last Saturday, so she is busy and readily moving between the two. Haven’t seen any queen cells yet, but did notice a queen cup on one frame in the bottom box.

What I would like to know is, when would it be a good time to try a split or artificial swarm, to increase my stock? And any hints and tips on how to go about it?

gavin
19-05-2010, 12:42 AM
I'd wait until they do make queen cells - prompted by not being given more space - then you can split into two boxes or several nucs.

darlo
01-06-2010, 12:49 PM
Thanks Gavin

Took another look yesterday, and still only queen cups, a few more drone cells but still plenty of capped, larvae and eggs, and with a good view of her majesty working hard in top brood box.
One super on for past week, but the bees still have not drawn any comb yet. I don't have any exluder on, and tempted to try some syrup to draw them up. What do you think?

Chris

Jon
01-06-2010, 02:19 PM
If you put a super frame in the middle of the brood nest the bees will draw it out and the queen will lay in it.
They will probably draw drone comb below but you can cut that off.
If you put it back in the super above the excluder the bees will go up to look after the brood and should then work sideways.
You can put it back below the excluder before hatch date or if it is all worker brood, you can let it hatch in the super.
I am assuming your super is not drone foundation.
make sure you don't move the queen up if you do this.

darlo
22-06-2010, 08:37 PM