PDA

View Full Version : Waspkeeping

Kieth
11-06-2013, 07:52 PM
Hello all, I am new to the word of bee keeping and have some questions, specifically regarding the keeping of wasps. It appears waspkeeping is still not as popular as beekeeping, however a new generation of waspkeepers are bringing this hobby to the mainstream. I was unable to find a forum specifically for waspkeepers and hope you will be able to help me.

I would like to know if waspkeeping is similar to beekeeping; do wasps live in those white boxes bees live in? Do wasps produce an equivalent of honey or beeswax and if so how do I harvest this?

Many thanks

Keith

The Drone Ranger
11-06-2013, 09:48 PM
Wasps like a nice diet of caterpillar early in the year and sugary things in the Autumn
The best place to keep them is in your loft that way they can visit you all over the house
Wasps are a bit keener to sting so if you have arthritis you will be quids in
Also wasps don't leave their sting in you, so they can always pop back and sting you again later if you like
Wood wasps are a type of hornet. they get very large. and like pine logs to lay their eggs
If you want to attract them buy a nice saw and chop down a few pine trees
Don't get stung by these though, or arthritis will be the least of your worries
You wont get any bees wax from wasps but they produce big paper nests which some artists will buy
Alternatively they light the fire very well indeed
Wasp honey and rocking horse droppings make popular breakfast cereal called CoCo Pops but the recipe is a secret
Wasp boxes don't have to be white and neither do beehives that myth came from the Wizard of OZ film starring Judy Garland
That was a very good film for anyone who is considering how to live in a fantasy world
Anyway I digress
Best of luck with the Wasps Keith they can often be trained to come to a jar of jam which might help get you started

lindsay s
11-06-2013, 09:53 PM
Hi Keith