PDA

View Full Version : Government’s Bee Inspectors - The Good Guys!!

Hugh
07-04-2010, 09:23 AM
I am new to the Keeping of bees and I have been going along to the Dunblane and Stirling Beekeepers Association, and joining in their beginners classes which were great, as well as being easy to understand.
Last night we had a visit from Scottish Government’s Bee Inspectors, Steve Sunderland, who is the first full time inspector.
His talk was excellent, he was in the thick of the Foul Brood outbrake in Scotland last year and he was very reasuring on were it came from, how/were it spread and what is the best way to control/manage your bees to minumise the spread of any infection.

If your club/association gets the chance to have Steve along then grab it quick, he's going to be a busy man this year.

Go onto https://secure.fera.defra.gov.uk/beebase/index.cfm and watch for updates over the next few weeks, they should be very helpful.

gavin
07-04-2010, 05:26 PM
Excellent to hear that Hugh. As a matter of interest, where did he say EFB came from? AFB looks like a long-established problem bubbling up again and largely ignored by beekeepers until now, but EFB is more recent epidemic which seems to have got out of control before being spotted. I'm just curious about how far Steve went with speculations about an ultimate source.

best wishes

Gavin

Hugh
08-04-2010, 08:26 AM
Hi Gavin

EFB was mostly among the commercial producers, and had probably been about for years at a low level. He said that EFB was not following the usual symptoms (i.e. EFB in sealed brood!!) and it was not showing up on the test kits they tried!! So if you have any suspicions, get the inspectors involved.

AFB was different; it was amongst the amateur beekeepers and could be traced back to one probable source, which was an old collection of hives dating back 10-20 years. Which was passed onto other people by various means and spread the infection?