PDA

View Full Version : Is inbreeding an issue with bees

snimmo243
23-01-2013, 05:31 PM
I'm fairly new to beekeeping, I got my first nuc from my local assosciation in 2009, in 2011 I split this colony giving me my current 2 colonies, if I split these 2 colonies this year is there a risk of inbreeding? according to beebase there are 25 (registered) apiaries within 10km of my apiary.
Do I need to source "new blood"?
If so When?

Steven

Jon
23-01-2013, 06:23 PM
It's only really an issue if you live on an island with very few colonies or in a very isolated area.
Drones can fly 10 miles to mate.
There are a couple of marathon threads on bee genetics and inbreeding on the forum from a couple of years ago if you have the energy to wade through them.

nemphlar
25-01-2013, 10:22 PM
I'd be wary of assuming that there is enough diversity in the area to never bring in fresh blood. I get a horrible banded bee if I breed queens in upper Clyde valley, but move 2miles further up and 300ft higher and they are consistently dark. unless you know who the beeks in the area are and how strong the hives are, bringing in a good quality queen every 3 or 4 years has to be good. Every wild colony I was aware of in my area has died

Jon
25-01-2013, 10:39 PM
I agree with regard to bringing in the odd new queen every few years but your problem is introgression of genetic material from other races or mongrels leading to hybridization rather than inbreeding.
We all have there same problem on occasion as there are no isolated mating stations.
Best approach is to get together with other local beekeepers and make sure you are all keeping the same race of bee - hopefully a nice black one!

nemphlar
25-01-2013, 11:10 PM